Mustard Seed


The other day I went for a walk along the country side of life. I saw a field of mustard seeds. I thought of the bible verse found in Matthew 17:20 “If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain,’Move from here to there and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” I am reminded that we need to step back into our child like faith. 

Let the mountains be moved, Let the heavens declare His glory. Let us see what our Heavenly Father desires us to see. Let us be move willing to stand firm in our faith, be grounded, steadfast and unmovable. Imagine if we walked in our faith, unshakable. 

I was thankful to take my walk and have this time with our creator. Wow…. we are such a blessed nation.  Think about it. How do we offer our thanks and praise to Him. Is it only on Sunday morning? Or Do we praise Him through every storm that comes our way? Are we willing to change for a mustard seed. Where is your faith? Are you scared of how God can use you? 

I believe we all need to step back into a child like faith. It amazes me how unshakable kids are, how sure and confident. We need to become more trusting in our faith. Big fancy theological words won’t get you to heaven. A personal relationship with our Lord and Saviour…., now we are talking! 

 It’s amazing the transformation that takes place in our lives when we fully believe that Jesus died on the cross for our sins. Not just mine… He took the weight of the world with Him. Then, you think it ends there… after He is dead, buried…what happens …three days later…. He comes back from the dead… to remind us to follow Him and that He is going to prepare a place for us in heaven. Mind blowing. We have a Father that would love us so much, He allowed His son to take on the sins of this world. I cannot fathom that. As a parent, I am here to protect my child. Then, here’s God the Father really sacrificing His son for our sins, to give us everlasting life. What? Life eternal. 

As crazy as this sounds, it’s that simple. My question is this, if it’s that simple…. where’s your faith? Are you willing to test the waters like faith of a child? What are you afraid of? Are you willing to plant a mustard seed and let it grow? 

As I end this topic… I think of the song “Waiting here for You”by Christy Nockles … “if faith can move the mountains, let the mountains move. We come with expectations waiting here for you.” 

Leave a comment