Humor vs Sarcasm 



In all honesty, I enjoy a good laugh then again… who doesn’t. Then there is the sarcastic humour. I realize, we as a society hide behind our hurts and lash out in sarcasm.

Yes, I know. I am talking to myself on this one!  Maybe, being a therapist to myself is a good thing. Only problem there… I don’t get paid. On the other hand I don’t have to pay someone either. It’s almost a win- win. Yes that comment was a little tongue and cheek there, sarcasm. Yes, I know it oh too well.

I realize sarcasm is a tough line that a times we choose to cross. It is a line that we sometimes push the limits and hurt the ones we love around us. So really it’s time. Time to bite the tongue. Time to choose our words more carefully. Think before we speak. Harsh words from the heart, you know I’m right.

I know, I enjoy a good bantering back and forth with sarcasm. There is a need to learn to control it. In the grand sceam of things PEOPLE can get hurt by that razor sharp tongue. Sometimes We realize that tongue is rather jagged, a little late. Did you have to say the last word? Was it really all worth it ? Just because you think it….. doesn’t mean it should be repeated.

I don’t think I’m just speaking to myself when I say it. Sometimes in those moments…. may it be in anger or just the feeling like you are about to loose it, pure retaliation. You sound off, the words that utter from your lips … are deep down hurtful and yes perhaps that was the intent. Those words you can never take back, so try to choose your words more carefully.

Yes, in the end sarcasm no matter how it is intended…. it hurts. Is it worth perhaps loosing a friend over a sharp tongue. Think about it….. the next time you are tempted to be sarcastic, is it necessary? Be careful how you choose your words.

Ecclesiastes 5:2-4

“Do not be quick with your mouth,

do not be hasty in your heart

to utter anything before God.

God is in heaven

and you are on earth,

so let your words be few.”

Or the famous saying we have all heard our mothers say. Even quoted by Bambi ” If you don’t have nothing nice to say…. don’t say anything at all!”

Leave a Reply

